History of Chemistry at Oxford

Department of Chemistry University of Oxford

Frederick Soddy Robert Robinson Cecil Hinshelwood Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin John Warcup Cornforth

1921 Frederick Soddy

"for his contributions to our knowledge of the chemistry of radioactive substances, and his investigations into the origin and nature of isotopes"

1947 Sir Robert Robinson 

"for his investigations on plant products of biological importance, especially the alkaloids"

1956 Sir Cyril Norman Hinshelwood (with Nikolay Nikolaevich Semenov

"for their researches into the mechanism of chemical reactions"

1957 Alexander R Todd, Baron Todd

"for his work on nucelotides and co-enzymes"

1964 Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin 

"for her determinations by X-ray techniques of the structures of important biochemical substances"

1975 John Warcup Cornforth 

"for his work on the stereochemistry of enzyme-catalyzed reactions"

1997 John E Walker  (with Paul D Boyer)

"for their elucidation of the enzymatic reaction underlying the synthesis of adenosine triphosphate (ATP)"